Board Of Nursing Florida License

The Florida Board of Nursing is a board that regulates and licenses nurses in the state of Florida. It attempts to ensure that all nurses in Florida are qualified to provide safe patient care, as well as promote a high standard for nursing practice.

Board Of Nursing Florida License

1 Florida Board Of Nursing License Renewal

If you are a nurse in Florida, the board of nursing will send you a renewal form at least 45 days before your license expires. The form must be completed, signed and returned to the board before your license expires. The fee for renewal is $75.

The requirements for renewal are as follows:

  • You must complete continuing education as required by the law and pay fees;
  • You must pass an exam that is given by the Florida Board of Nursing;
  • If previously licensed in another state, you have not had disciplinary action against your nursing license or surrendered any licenses within the last 5 years.

2 Florida Board Of Nursing-License Verification

The Florida Board of Nursing grants licenses to qualified individuals who have completed the required education and passed a series of examinations. Anyone in Florida can verify their license status by phone or online, and there are several methods of verification that you can choose from depending on your needs:

  • Phone: Call the Florida Board of Nursing at (850) 245-4230 during business hours.
  • Online: Visit https://florida.bfn.state/VerifyLicStatus/, log in with your user ID and password, then click “license checker” to find out if your nursing license is valid for renewal or not. For expired licenses, you will be given information about how to reinstate them through various methods outlined below in Section 1: How To Renew Your License

3 Florida Board Of Nursing Complaints

  • How to file a complaint: You can file a complaint online, by phone or in person. The board will not accept anonymous complaints.
  • What to include in the complaint: Your name and contact information. A description of the incident that led to the complaint and how it affected you or your family member. If there was an injury from negligence on behalf of the nurse, include details about this as well.
  • How long does it take? If you’re filing a complaint against someone who isn’t currently licensed with the Board of Nursing (for example, an ex-nurse), it may take longer for them to be contacted about your concerns because they may no longer work at their last employer’s practice location where you can reach them directly if necessary without having to go through several different chains of command first before finally reaching someone who knows where this person lives now so they can address your concerns themselves instead.)
  • What happens next? The individual will be notified first via registered mail then again via certified mail after which time they have 15 days until they must respond back with either yes/no answers or written statements explaining why certain questions don’t apply or why certain statements aren’t correct based on what happened during their tenure working within Florida State law governing health professionals such as nurses who practice outside their scope license limits under these circumstances; however these responses do not bind anyone legally because once again here we return back full circle: nobody is required nor even recommended from our perspective anyway unless possible patient safety issues arise over time due something illegal happening during treatment sessions involving patients seeking care services provided by licensed professionals like doctors nurses dentists pharmacists psychologists social workers counselors etcetera.”

4 Florida Board Of Nursing License Requirements

To become a registered nurse in Florida, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years old and a U.S. citizen.
  • Have a high school diploma or equivalent GED certificate with no more than 10 years of elapsed time since graduation (as of 2017).
  • Have passed the NCLEX-RN exam within the last 3 years (as of 2018). You must also submit an application for licensure within 24 months from your date of passing this test; otherwise, your license will expire and you’ll have to retake it again in order to regain your status as an RN.
  • Possess a valid social security number or proof that one has been applied for before submitting their application for licensure — this may include a Form SS-5 Application for Social Security Card or other documentation which verifies citizenship status such as birth certificates or passports from countries outside the United States

5 Florida Board Of Nursing Fees

  • Initial license

You will need to pay a fee of $175 for your initial nursing license. This fee does not include the cost of fingerprinting or training. If you would like to become licensed as an advanced practice nurse (APN), you will need to pay an additional $50 fee.

  • License renewal

You will be required to renew your Florida Board of Nursing license once every two years, and this process requires that you pay another $175 fee unless it has been expired for less than 2 years in which case it is only $75. If you are renewing and have previously been disciplined by the board, then there may be additional fees associated with that disciplinary action as well as any fines levied against them by the courts. You can find all applicable renewal requirements on their website at https://www2f cnursingcom/renewal/.

6 Florida Board Of Nursing License Lookup

The Florida Board of Nursing is the state agency that oversees nurses. You can use their online system to check if your license is active or inactive, as well as look up someone else’s if you have their legal name and birth date.

To find out if you have a nursing license in Florida:

  • Go to!your_license_number&d=Y#%23!your_license_number&d=Y

7 Florida Board Of Nursing Dental Hygiene

The Florida Board of Nursing offers a Dental Hygiene program for students interested in pursuing careers as dental hygienists. The coursework is divided into six semesters and includes education on the following topics:

  • Three general education courses (12 credits)
  • One anatomy course (3 credits)
  • Two microbiology courses (6 credits)
  • Two clinical laboratories (4 credits), which are required to be taken at the same time as each other

8 Get information about the Board of Nursing for the state of FL

  • Get information about the Board of Nursing for the state of FL
  • Find out what steps to take if you have complaints against a nurse or other health care providers
  • Find out what requirements you need to meet in order for your license renewal process to be successful


We hope this information helps you to better understand the Board of Nursing for the state of FL.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *