Colleges That Accept 17 Act Scores In Louisiana

Want to know where you can go to college in Louisiana with your ACT score? Here’s a list of all the colleges that accept 17 scores in the state.

Colleges That Accept 17 Act Scores In Louisiana

1 Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College

LSU is a public, co-educational, land-grant, space-grant, research university with the main campus in Baton Rouge. LSU is the flagship university of Louisiana.

LSU was founded in 1853 as Louisiana State Seminary of Learning & Military Academy with the purpose of training youth for careers in teaching and engineering. It was renamed Agricultural and Mechanical College of Louisiana (A&M) in 1878; then again to Louisiana State University (LSU) in 2006 when it became a comprehensive doctoral degree granting institution once more after being reorganized into its present form by legislative action during the administration of Governor Mike Foster.

2 Tulane University of Louisiana

Tulane University of Louisiana is a private research university located in New Orleans, Louisiana. It was established in 1834 as the Medical College of Louisiana. The university was founded by John McAllister and David Filleau Barthelet.

The school’s name honors Tulane University, which had been established in New Orleans in 1831 by Josephine Louise Newcomb and her husband William Merritt Allison Sr., but had closed due to financial difficulties during the Civil War. The school opened with just 16 students on October 5th, 1893 at Tulane’s uptown campus (the current site of Audubon Park). By 1930 it had grown into an institution with over 1,000 students studying law and medicine alone; other degrees were added later on such as those related to architecture or engineering.[

3 McNeese State University

McNeese State University is a public, coeducational university located in Lake Charles, Louisiana. It is a member-school of the Thurgood Marshall College Fund and was founded in 1939 as a teachers’ college.

4 Loyola University New Orleans

Loyola University New Orleans is a private, coeducational, nonsectarian, non-profit institution of higher education located in New Orleans, Louisiana. The school was founded by the Society of Jesus (Jesuits) on September 1, 1912 on the banks of Bayou St. John just south of Lake Pontchartrain to train young men for leadership roles in Louisiana and beyond.

Loyola’s campus comprises more than 900 acres surrounded by live oaks draped with Spanish moss; it is located in Uptown New Orleans across from Tulane University and Audubon Park.

5 LSU Health Sciences Center – Shreveport

LSU Health Sciences Center – Shreveport

LSU Health Sciences Center – Shreveport is a public medical school in Shreveport, Louisiana. It was established by the Louisiana State Legislature in 1871 as the Louisiana State University Medical Department (LUMD). The school was renamed as LSU System’s School of Medicine in 1985 and again as LSU Health Sciences Center—Shreveport (LSUHSC-S) in 2001.

LSUHSC-S remains one of only two medical schools located within the state boundaries of Louisiana. The other is Tulane University School of Medicine, which was also founded under LUMD’s auspices and remains an independent institution from its New Orleans base.

6 Southern University and A & M College Baton Rouge

Southern University and A & M College is a public, historically black university located in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States. It is a member-school of the Thurgood Marshall College Fund.

The school was founded in 1880 as Southern University, and opened in 1881. In 1920 it merged with Louisiana Normal School to form Southern Normal School and Industrial Institute for Negroes; in 1924 it changed its name to Southern University Agricultural and Mechanical College; on July 1, 1979 it became simply Southern University at Baton Rouge (SUBR). In 1991 the name was shortened again to its current title: Southern University at Baton Rouge (SUAR).

7 Nicholls State University

Nicholls State University, located in Thibodaux, Louisiana, is a public institution. It is a four-year institution that was founded in 1964 and it has an undergraduate student body of approximately 5,000 students. Nicholls State University participates in NCAA Division I athletics as part of the Southland Conference.

8 Southeastern Louisiana University

Southeastern Louisiana University is a public, co-educational, liberal arts university located in Hammond, Louisiana. Southeastern Louisiana University is a member of the Southland Conference. Southeastern offers 17 undergraduate programs and 30 graduate programs.

9 Nicholls State University, Thibodaux, Louisiana

Nicholls State University is a public university located in Thibodaux, Louisiana, United States. Nicholls State University is a member of the University of Louisiana System with its main campus located on Bayou Des Allemands. It was established as South Louisiana Industrial Institute through an Act of Congress signed by President Woodrow Wilson on March 15th 1917; however it didn’t open until September 22nd 1924 after being renamed to Nicholls State College. In 1970 it became part of the newly created University Of Louisiana System before changing names again in 1987 after its namesake Edward Douglass White II who served as Governor Of Louisiana From 1843-1844

10 Colleges That Accept 17 Act Scores In Louisiana

  • Alabama State University
  • Baton Rouge Community College
  • The University of Louisiana at Lafayette (ULL)
  • Louisiana Tech University
  • Loyola University New Orleans


These are just some of the schools that accept 17 ACT scores in Louisiana. There are many more out there, so make sure you do your research before choosing a school.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *