How to become a notary in mississippi

How to become a notary in mississippi

How to Become a Notary in Mississippi

You might have heard about notaries and wondered, “What is a notary public? What does a notary do? I want to become a notary.” The good news is, becoming a Mississippi notary is easy!

Here’s what you need to do:

  • Apply for the position of Notary Public of the State of Mississippi by completing an application form available at your nearest Circuit Clerk’s office or by visiting the Secretary of State website at
  • Post a $10,000 surety bond with the circuit clerk’s office in your county to ensure that you will comply with all commissions as an officer of the state and to protect against any wrongful acts (you can purchase your bond from most insurance companies).
  • Take an oath to faithfully discharge duties before signing the application form and paying required application fees ($40) with the clerk’s office (fees may vary depending on location).
  • Obtain your official embossing seal from AnytimeNotary that fully complies with Mississippi law (additional fees apply). It should display name, title and commission expiration date. This embosser should be used for all documents you notarize within the state of Mississippi borders only. Note: The embosser cannot contain additional wording such as “Notarial Seal” or “Registered Embosser”. It must read exactly as it appears on your commission certificate; 5. Keep an official journal of all transactions so that if required, they can be produced in court when necessary (AnytimeNotary offers affordable journals; please see our product page for more information).

What does a Mississippi notary do?

  • Notaries Public are commissioned by the Secretary of State for a term of six years.
  • The duties of a notary public are to administer oaths, take acknowledgments, and certify documents.
  • A notary public may not give legal advice or prepare legal documents.

Who can be a notary in Mississippi?

To become a commissioned notary in Mississippi, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident (or if not, be eligible for employment in the U.S.)
  • Live in Mississippi and have maintained residency for at least 30 days prior to submitting your application
  • Have never been convicted of a felony or a crime of dishonesty, fraud or deceit

After fulfilling the above requirements, you must complete a six-hour notary education course and pass the notary exam before submitting your application to become commissioned with the MS Secretary of State’s office.

What is required for a notary commission in Mississippi?

The requirements for a notary commission in Mississippi are:

  • You must be at least 18 years old.
  • You must be a resident of Mississippi.
  • You must be able to read and write English.
  • You must not have been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude or had your notary commission revoked in the past three years.

How do I become a Mississippi Notary?

Now that you’ve learned what a Mississippi notary public does, you’re going to want to become one. The first step is to make sure that you meet all of the requirements for becoming a notary in Mississippi. Then, you’ll need to complete the application for a commission as a notary public, pay the $10 application fee and obtain a $10,000 bond. Lastly, you’ll take the oath of office and purchase your supplies.

Where do I send my application?

The Mississippi Secretary of State’s Office is where you’ll send your application.

You can reach the office at:

  • Street Address: P.O. Box 136, Jackson, MS 39205-0136
  • Physical Address: 222 Market Street, Suite 200, Jackson, MS 39201
  • Phone: (601) 359-1350
  • Fax: (601) 359-1351
  • Email:
  • Website:

When is my application due?

The Mississippi Secretary of State’s office requires you to apply for a commission no less than 30, but no more than 60 days before your current notary public commission expires. When in doubt, refer to the expiration date on your most recent Notary Public Commission Certificate.

When will I get the results of my application?

After the application is processed and you have been approved to become a notary, the Secretary of State’s office will send you a welcome letter that includes your notary number and instructions on how to obtain your official commission.

The time it takes for your application to be processed varies depending on the number of applications being submitted. Approval generally takes 3-5 business days but can take up to 30 days or longer if there are any issues with your background check or if you need to complete additional requirements.

Why is the state taking so long to respond to my application and/or return my bond and/or certificate of appointment?

Applications received in the mail may be delayed due to several reasons, including:

  • the volume of applications received in the mail
  • the time of year (particularly if it is during a holiday season)
  • the backlog of applications already waiting to be processed
  • errors or missing information on the application
  • the need for additional information from you, such as a copy of your driver’s license.

If you feel that your application was filed properly and has been delayed longer than a reasonable amount of time due to one of these factors, please contact our office by email at or by phone at 601-359-6574 or 1-800-421-6456.

Do I have to visit the Secretary of State’s office in person to become a notary in Mississippi?

No, you do not need to visit the Secretary of State’s office in person to become a notary in Mississippi. In fact, doing so will likely only extend the amount of time it takes to process your application. Instead, you can submit your application by mail or online. If you are already a notary and want to renew your commission, you may visit a local notary public.

Is it mandatory that I take an oath of office if I become a Mississippi notary public?

Yes, the oath of office is mandatory.

You must take the oath within 30 days of receiving your commission.

The oath must be taken before a judge, clerk of the court, or other officer authorized to administer oaths.

The oath must be taken in Mississippi.

How long is the term of a Mississippi notary public commission?

Each Mississippi notary commission lasts for a four-year term. This term begins the day after the current commission expires in commission. Mississippi notaries are required to keep a journal of all their notarial acts, which must be made available for inspection by law enforcement or any other party that requests it.

Is there an education requirement to becoming a notary in Mississippi?

A notary in Mississippi does not need to have a high school diploma or college degree. However, you may want to take a course before taking the exam.

Taking an online course is an easy and convenient way to learn about the job duties and responsibilities of a notary. Courses vary in price depending on which one you choose. If your employer requires it, they may cover the cost of your education.

Do I need to take an exam to become a notary in Mississippi?

Some states require exams and waiting periods, but not Mississippi. In fact, it’s one of the simpler and more streamlined processes. That said, it’s important to understand that notaries in some states are called commissioned or public notaries. These names may be used interchangeably in different states, but they all refer to the same position: an individual who serves as a third-party witness to legal documents like contracts or affidavits.

Some states do require a notary exam; examples include California, Hawaii and Colorado, but again, Mississippi has no such requirement. If you’re curious whether your state requires an exam for becoming a notary, you can look up the specifics at your state’s Secretary of State website (Mississippi’s is here).

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *