how to become a notary in ms
How to Become a Notary in Mississippi
You’re eligible to become a Mississippi notary if you’re over 18 years old, have a high school diploma or GED and are a U.S. citizen or a legal permanent resident of the United States. You must be able to read and write English well enough to understand the oath and all other notary laws that apply in your state. You must also pass the notary exam before you can officially become a notary in Mississippi.
To get your official commission as a notary in MS, you’ll need to complete an application form with the Secretary of State’s office. The application process usually takes about three weeks, but it could take longer if you’re applying for multiple commissions at once or if there is any delay in receiving your passport photos from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Mississippi Notary Qualifications
While there are no specific education requirements for becoming a notary public, you must meet the following qualifications:
- Be at least 18 years old.
- Be a legal resident of Mississippi.
- Be able to read and write in English.
- Not have been convicted of a felony or any other crime involving moral turpitude.
Mississippi Notary Application Process
The Mississippi Secretary of State’s office provides a notary application form. Completing the form is an important part of becoming a notary in Mississippi. When you fill out your notary public application, you must provide information such as your name, address and phone number. The completed form may be submitted in one of several ways.
You can submit your application by mail, in person or online—although the online option is only available to those who have taken and passed the required coursework for new state notaries.# END OF SECTION
Mississippi Notary Seal and Record Book Requirements
Oops! Click Regenerate Content below to try generating this section again.
Mississippi Notary Fees
When you are a notary in Mississippi, you will be paid in two different ways. The first way is through fees charged for each notarial act that you perform. This does not include fees for the application process, which are explained below.
The fee for becoming a notary public in Mississippi is $20, and the application fee is $10. The bond required to become a notary public is $5,000 and your commission will be good for four years from the date it was issued. Your application fee is non-refundable regardless of whether or not your application was approved.
How to Renew Your Commission as a Missippi Notary
In order to remain a notary public, you will need to reapply for your commission. You must apply during the last month of your term by filling out a Notary Application and returning it to the Secretary of State’s office along with $25 renewal fee. You will receive a renewal notice from the Secretary of State’s office before your commission expires with instructions on how to renew.
Mississippi Notary Educational Resources
There are many ways to learn about the profession, such as:
- Get trained. The state of Mississippi offers a 12-hour notary education course. This training is required by the state for all new notaries and also for those who have been notaries for fewer than three years. The training is designed to give you an overview of what being a notary entails, so that you can be successful in your work and avoid making costly mistakes. It also provides helpful tips on how to conduct yourself as a professional and promotes ethical standards of conduct.
You can take all the required steps to become a notary in your state.
Earning the title of notary public in your state may seem like a daunting task, but it is within reach. In order to become a fully qualified notary you have only to complete certain steps and undergo a process. The benefits of becoming a notary make all the effort worthwhile.