how to become an x ray tech in california
Meet California’s pre-licensure course and clinical experience requirements.
The California Department of Public Health lists the following pre-licensure course and clinical experience requirements:
- Complete a radiologic technology program that is accredited by the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT). Programs must be at least 24 months in length and must include all of the required courses listed below.
- Complete at least 16 hours of coursework in radiation protection and radiation physics.
- Complete a minimum of 16 hours of coursework in patient care, human anatomy and physiology, medical terminology, medical record management, medical law, ethics and professionalism. Students must also receive written instruction on principles of safety management as they relate to patient care. This instruction may be part of an existing class.
- Complete at least 40 hours of education focused on radiation biology, protection and control measures including time/distance concepts related to reducing exposure. The student must also receive instruction on how to interpret ALARA principles (as low as reasonably achievable) for the purpose of reducing exposure risks to patients during radiologic procedures.
Pass pre-certification exams.
The ARRT exam is a multiple-choice exam that consists of 200 questions, including 25 experimental questions. The experimental questions don’t count toward your score, but you won’t know which ones they are, so you’ll want to treat every question like it could be an experimental one.
You can take the exam as many times as you need to pass, but there’s a fee of $200 each time. You must wait 90 days to retake the test if you fail and may only take it three times in any calendar year.
Submit an application for licensure.
The radiation health section of the California Department of Public Health is responsible for approving applications to become an X-ray technician in California and issuing licenses.
To submit an application, you must pay a $110 fee. Applications may be submitted by mail, fax, or in person at the radiation health office, or online. 
If you plan on submitting your application via mail or fax, download Form CDPH 8705 from the radiation health website. Complete all requested identifying information and check off “X-ray Technician” on the form. Sign and date your submission and return it with payment by check or money order made out to “CDPH Radiologic Health Branch.” Mail to:
CDPH Radiation Management Program
Attn: X-Ray License Unit
P.O. Box 997416 – MS 7404
Sacramento, CA 95899-7416 For those who want to submit their application in person, you can pay by cash at the main office of the Radiation Management Program located at: 2500 Del Paso Road – Suite 100 Sacramento, CA 95834 If you choose to submit your application online via BreEZe Online Services (https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CEH/DRSEM/Pages/EMSOnlineServicesInformationandInstructionsforApplicantsandLicenseesforUsingtheBreEZeOnlineServicesPage(Weblink).aspx), make sure that you select “Apply for Certification” as your first action item and that you follow all prompts during this process until you have paid for your license. Be aware that there is a nonrefundable convenience fee charged when applying online through BreEZe Services. The processing time for your application takes up to 15 days from receipt of all necessary documents until completion. You will receive notification either approving or denying your request for licensure once processing completes.
You can become an x ray tech in california
In California, you can become a radiologic technologist (X-ray technician) by completing either a 2-year radiologic technology program or a 4-year bachelor’s degree program. You’ll also need to pass the ARRT national certification exam in your area of specialty and the California fluoroscopy permit test if you intend to use the equipment.