Maslow Hierarchy Of Needs Nursing

Maslow’s hierarchy of needs is a theory proposed by Abraham Maslow in 1943. It describes a hierarchy of five levels of human needs, from the most basic to the most advanced. Maslow originally suggested that humans experience these levels in order, from the lowest to highest: physiological needs, safety needs, belongingness and love needs (belonging + love), esteem needs (esteem + self-respect), and self-actualization. However, he later integrated his observations about child development into this model—which led him to believe that individuals do not necessarily follow a strict hierarchy in their life paths but may skip around among various levels at different times depending on their motivations at any given moment.

Maslow Hierarchy Of Needs Nursing

1 Physiological Needs

Physiological needs include food, water, sleep and sex. If these are not met you will not be able to focus on the other needs.

An example of a physiological need is food. If you do not eat for a long period of time you will become weak and eventually die if you do not get help from someone else.

2 Safety Needs

The most basic needs are the ones that are at the base of Maslow’s pyramid. Safety needs are the simplest and most primal, covering how safe and secure you feel in your environment, as well as freedom from physical pain or danger. It also includes peace of mind, which refers to psychological security rather than physical safety.

Safety needs are the most basic because they can’t be fulfilled until all other lower level needs have been met first—such as food and water for example. If you don’t have enough food or water, then your body will not function properly in order to meet any higher level needs such as self-actualization or love/belonging/friends/family

3 Belongingness and Love Needs

Belongingness and Love Needs – The need to belong is a strong human desire. If you don’t feel as if you belong, it can lead to depression, anxiety, and other mental health problems. A lot of people find belongingness through intimate relationships (romantic or otherwise), but this doesn’t mean that everyone needs a partner in order to feel like they’re part of something bigger than themselves. Belongingness can also be found in other contexts such as friendships and family relationships.

Although Maslow’s hierarchy focuses on the needs at the bottom of our list (physiological), he mentions that belongingness is considered an important factor for survival because humans form social bonds with others from birth onwards.[1] The need to love is closely related – both are motivated by feelings of loneliness or isolation from others; however love does not necessarily imply sexual intimacy so much as caring about someone else’s well-being.[2]

4 Esteem Needs

Esteem needs are the desires to be respected and have a sense of importance. These needs are tied to the esteem of others. Esteem needs are also related to the need for self-esteem, which is how highly you think of yourself and your abilities. If a person has high esteem, he or she feels important rather than worthless.

Esteem needs include:

  • Respect from others
  • Respect from people in positions of authority (such as doctors)
  • Accomplishments that make people look at you with respect (like winning an award)

5 Self-Actualization Needs

Self-Actualization is the highest level of Maslow’s hierarchy of needs. This need is characterized by a desire to fulfill one’s potential in life, to achieve personal growth and become self-actualized. People who are self-actualized have developed all their talents and capabilities, have fully actualized their potential and possess a sense of well-being as they have met their full human potential.

Self-Actualization is inherently different from simply being happy or content with one’s life; rather it implies that one should be actively striving for growth through using their talents, developing themselves intellectually through learning new things (such as reading books), making meaningful contributions towards others, seeking challenges that push your own boundaries etc., all while being authentically happy in the process!

6 Maslow hierarchy of needs is a theory proposed by Abraham Maslow in 1943

Maslow’s theory is a theory of motivation. It states that people are motivated by unsatisfied needs. According to the theory, these needs form a hierarchy and if one need is satisfied, another need takes its place as the most important.

Maslow’s hierarchy of needs has five layers with varying levels of importance:

  • Physiological Needs (e.g., hunger)
  • Safety Needs (e.g., security)
  • Belongingness & Love Needs (e.g., friendship, intimacy) You should read about in this section
  • Esteem Needs – Self-Actualization and Accomplishment (e.g., self-respect, achievement)

7 This hierarchy can be used to understand what motivates you scientifically

In this lesson, you will learn about Maslow’s hierarchy of needs. This is a theory proposed by Abraham Maslow in 1943 that describes human motivation, suggesting that basic needs must be met before higher-level needs are activated.

It is used to understand what motivates us scientifically and to support the development of professional nursing practice.


The Maslow hierarchy of needs is an important tool for nursing students to use when considering their career choices. By understanding the motivation behind each level of the pyramid, you can determine if this is something that interests you or not. If it does, then it’s worth exploring further by learning more about what each level means because knowing which one applies most strongly to your personality will help motivate others around you as well.”

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *