scholarships to australia

scholarships to australia

Australian Awards Scholarships

Australian Awards Scholarships are long term development awards administered by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. They provide opportunities for people from developing countries, particularly those countries located in the Indo-Pacific region, to undertake full time undergraduate or postgraduate study at participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions.

Eligible Field of Study:

The study program for which you receive your scholarship must be one that is included on Australia’s Development Priority List. Details of eligible programs can be found here:

Eligibility Criteria:

To be eligible for an Australian Award Scholarship, you must meet all the following criteria:

  • Be a citizen and resident of a participating country;
  • Demonstrate a commitment to return to your home country after completing your scholarship;
  • Be able to demonstrate a high level of academic achievement;
  • Meet health requirements;
  • Meet character requirements; and
  • Not hold citizenship or permanent residency status in Australia or another developed country.

Endeavour Scholarships and Fellowships

If you are eligible for the Endeavour Scholarship, you can either apply for a scholarship to study abroad or for a research fellowship. The scholarships are available at any accredited Australian institution and last between four and twelve months. They can be used for both undergraduate coursework and postgraduate research.

Australia Awards Short Courses

The Australia Awards Short Course is an international program providing professional development and training opportunities to leaders in developing countries, with a focus on skills development for women. Australia awards short courses are usually one to six weeks in duration, and cover a wide range of topics across three broad sectors:

  • Governance
  • Social Development
  • Economic Growth

There are two types of Australia Awards Short Courses. Eligible participants can apply directly to the institution offering their preferred course through an open application process. There is no need to contact the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT). Alternatively, applicants can apply for nominated places on specific courses. Countries nominate candidates for these places based on their alignment with national priorities.

Eligibility requirements vary according to whether you are applying directly or through a nominating agency in your home country. See below for more details:

Microsoft Australia Women in Technology Scholarship

The Microsoft Australia Women in Technology Scholarship is open to female students studying an IT related degree. There are three scholarships awarded each year, which are worth $5,000 per year for three years (totalling $15,000).

Applications for this scholarship open in July and close in September. This scholarship is only available to students studying in the first year of a bachelor of IT.

Macquarie University International College (MUIC) – Merit Scholarships for International Students

If you’re an international student, and hoping to begin studying at Macquarie University or Macquarie University International College (MUIC), there are a number of scholarship opportunities available to help support your studies. Find out what scholarships you might be eligible for and get in touch to discuss the application process.

The following scholarships are available at MUIC:

  • Merit Scholarships for Undergraduate Studies
  • Merit Scholarships for Postgraduate Studies

Southern Cross University – International Student Scholarship

Available To:

Bachelors students

Value: $15,000

Study Areas: All courses offered by Southern Cross University

Open To: International students studying in Australia on an international student visa. Australian citizens, Australian permanent residents and New Zealand citizens are ineligible to apply for these scholarships.

Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT) – RMIT English World Scholarships

The Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT) offers a number of scholarships for international students to complete pre-sessional English courses before starting their undergraduate or postgraduate degree program. The scholarships are worth between $1,500 and $3,000. The closing date for applications is 31 July 2019.

Students from all over the world are eligible. To be considered, you need to have received an offer from RMIT by 30 June 2019 and have successfully completed your Pre-program English Program or have enrolled in the program with the intention to start by 8 January 2020.

To find out more about eligibility requirements and the scholarship application process visit RMIT University’s website .

New Colombo Plan Scholarships

The New Colombo Plan is a signature initiative of the Australian Government that aims to lift knowledge of the Indo-Pacific in Australia by supporting Australian undergraduates to study and undertake internships in the region.

The New Colombo Plan Scholarships program aims to support Australian undergraduate students to undertake semester or year-long exchanges at participating partner universities throughout Asia. Through engagement with the New Colombo Plan, scholars will contribute to Australia’s long-term engagement with the region and support Australia’s foreign policy priorities.

Victoria University Design Challenge Scholarship for International Students in Australia, 2019-2020

This scholarship is designed to support international students who are passionate about design, technology, and innovation and can demonstrate leadership, entrepreneurial skills and commitment to their studies.

Eligibility: You will be eligible for this scholarship if you:

  • are an international student.
  • hold an offer of a place or have applied for a place in the Bachelor of Design (Honours) (Industrial Design).
  • meet English language requirements by 31 October 2018.

learn how to apply for scholarships to study in australia


To apply for this scholarship, you must meet the following criteria:

  • You must be a citizen of (but not permanent resident or temporary resident) one of the following countries: Asia, the Pacific, Middle East, Africa and the Americas.
  • You must be applying for an undergraduate or postgraduate (coursework) program at a participating Australian university.
  • You must have applied through UAC by 30 September.

The scholarships are for full-time, on-campus study in Australia that commences in 2019 at one of the following participating universities: ANU, Australian Catholic University (ACU), Curtin University, Griffith University, Macquarie University, The University of Queensland (UQ), Southern Cross University and The University of Western Australia (UWA).

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *