Texas Board Of Nursing License Renewal
The Texas Board of Nursing (BON) requires you to renew your license every two years. If you do not renew your license, you may be subject to penalties and fines. Failure to renew your license after 180 days can result in the revocation of your nursing license.
Texas Board Of Nursing License Renewal
1. Renewing Your License
If you are a nurse and have not renewed your license within 90 days of the expiration date, then you will be required to retake the NCLEX (National Council Licensure Examination) before your renewal can be approved.
You may renew your RN license online or by mail. You must pay a $70 fee for online renewal and there is no fee to renew by mail or in person at one of the locations listed below:
- Texas Department of Health Services Office Locations
- Nurse Aide Registry Offices
There are several other options for how you can renew your license depending on how long it has been since its expiration date:
Verification is the process of confirming that your current license is valid, and it’s mandatory for all nurse practitioners. If you’ve already verified your license via Pearson Vue when you applied for renewal, then don’t worry! You’re good to go.
If you haven’t submitted proof of verification yet or have never done so before, here’s what to do:
- Log in to your account at TexasBoards.com/verify
- Select “Verify License” from the menu bar on the left-hand side of the screen
3. Nursing Practice Questions
Your Texas nursing license renewal application includes a Nursing Practice Questions (NPC) test that assesses your knowledge and understanding of the Texas Nurse Practice Act. You must answer all questions correctly to pass this exam.
You may use a calculator, reference books or computer software to assist you with this portion of the application process if you feel it will help you answer all questions correctly. However, since it is a standardized test, we recommend using only those resources specifically approved by The Board (see link below).
The following are examples of resources approved by The Board:
- Speller’s Dictionary (print edition only)
- Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary Online Edition (print edition only)
4. Continuing Education Requirements
You must complete a minimum of 30 hours of approved continuing nursing education every two years. The Texas Board of Nursing must receive your renewal application and the fee before your license expires. The board will send you an email with the date that your license expires, so make sure to keep this information in a safe place so that you won’t forget to renew it on time!
As you can see, getting a Texas nursing license is not as hard as most people think—it just takes some time and effort to get everything done correctly before applying for one. We hope that our guide has helped clear up any confusion or questions you may have had about how long it takes to get licensed and what paperwork needs filled out first.
5. Continuing Education Providers
To find a continuing education provider, contact the Texas Board of Nursing. Providers include colleges, universities, hospitals and other healthcare facilities.
Choose a provider that offers courses that are relevant to your practice area. Some providers may offer too many courses in one area or not enough information about specific topics.
Ask about the content of the course and how it will be delivered:
- Is there an instructor who will lead discussions?
- How often will you have access to course material?
- What happens if you miss class due to illness or travel?
Once you’ve selected a provider and enrolled in a course, make sure it is worth your time:
- Check out reviews from previous students before completing all payment details; if they aren’t satisfied with their experience then probably neither will you be!
6. Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC)
The Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) is a voluntary agreement among the member states to have uniform nursing licensure laws, which helps protect the public and nurse license.
The NLC is used to protect the public by ensuring that all nurses in all states meet basic standards of practice. This includes having an active license, criminal background check and drug test. If a nurse does not meet these requirements in any state they are practicing in then they could be subject to disciplinary action or even lose their license entirely.
The NLC is also used to protect nurses from having their licenses revoked because there was no proof that they had met those requirements when practicing in another state with different licensing rules than where they had originally obtained their license. It also helps keep them safe from harm because it requires each state’s board of nursing has access to all licensing history for potential employers so that unsafe or potentially harmful employees cannot be hired by health care facilities across multiple states at once
7. Make sure you’re up to date on license renewal requirements from the Texas Board of Nursing before you run into problems.
The Texas Board of Nursing has a number of requirements for nursing license renewal. It’s important to stay up to date on these requirements and make sure you’re in compliance before your license expires. For example, if you’ve been disciplined by the Texas Board or another state’s board, it is possible that your license could be suspended or revoked even if it isn’t currently expired.
To make sure that this doesn’t happen to you, be sure to renew your license before it expires by doing one of the following:
- Renewing online – This can be done through the official website of the Texas Board (www.bon.state.tx.us). The process takes less than 10 minutes and requires only a few pieces of information from you such as name, birthdate and social security number (SSN). Once completed successfully there will be no need for further action aside from paying fees and meeting other requirements depending on whether we’re talking about renewal vs initial application here at License Gone Badly Wrong LLC
As you can see, there are a lot of requirements to renewing your nursing license in Texas. You may think that it will be an easy process if you have kept up with all the requirements for getting your original license. However, this is not always the case because many people find that they do not know about all of these different rules until they are already facing penalties from their state board of nursing. So make sure that you understand all of these rules before submitting anything else or paying fees for renewal!