The University Of The West Indies Barbados

The University Of The West Indies Barbados

The University of the West Indies (UWI) is a multi-campus institution comprising four universities: The University of the West Indies, Trinidad and Tobago; The University of the West Indies, Barbados; The University of the West Indies, Jamaica; and The University of the West Indies Open Campus. It was founded in 1948 as an autonomous university by an Act of Parliament.


The University of the West Indies (UWI) is an English-speaking university, located in Kingston, Jamaica, with its main administrative offices in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago. Established in 1948 by an Act of Parliament, it was modeled on the British university system; a constituent college of The University of London; and an all-island institution.

The UWI has campuses at Mona (in Kingston), St Augustine (in Trinidad), Cave Hill (in Barbados) and Open Campus (online). It also provides distance learning programmes through its International Academic Centre based at the Open Campus or from any other place where internet access is available.

The UWI Open Campus

The University of the West Indies (UWI) Open Campus is a postgraduate institution which offers distance learning and online programmes from its main campus in Barbados. The UWI Open Campus also provides online course offerings for undergraduate students at the Cave Hill Campus on an occasional basis.

The UWI Open Campus offers the following courses:

  • Certificate in Business Management (CBM)
  • Higher Diploma in Project Management (HDPPM)
  • Master’s Degree in Accountancy Studies – Professional Accounting Option
  • Master’s Degree in Accountancy Studies – Financial Option
  • Bachelor of Science with Honours in Economics and Finance (BSEF)

About the Barbados Campus

The Barbados Campus is located in Bridgetown, the capital city of Barbados. The campus is situated in Cave Hill, one of the most prestigious residential areas in the country.

The Barbados Campus offers state-of-the-art facilities for research activity alongside a vibrant and contemporary student life experience for its students.

The Barbados Campus offers traditional degree programmes as well as professional diploma programmes and module based courses that allow students to pursue their studies at their own pace.

History of the Barbados Campus

“The University of the West Indies was founded by an Act of Parliament in 1948. The main aim of this Act, passed on 29 July 1947, was to establish a university in Barbados which would serve as a centre for higher education and research in the region.”

“This campus has been active since its opening on 31 December 1950. Initially called The University College of the West Indies (UCWI), it offered two years’ worth of undergraduate instruction before students were required to transfer to another institution for their final two years.”

How Accessible is the Barbados Campus?

The University of the West Indies Barbados campus is located in the heart of Bridgetown. It is easily accessible by public transportation, foot and car.

The parking lot has more than 500 spaces for visitors and staff members. The campus is also accessible by bicycle or boat!

Web Mail Login

If you are using WebMail from your computer, please enter in your username and password below to access your account.



If you are having trouble logging in with your username and password, please contact the Web Mail Team at (246) 926-8766 or email


The university is the third oldest in the English-speaking Caribbean, and offers more than 100 programmes at undergraduate and postgraduate levels.

The university has two campuses: Cave Hill Campus and St Augustine Campus. The Cave Hill Campus (formerly known as “Bridgetown Campus”), is located 10 kilometres east of Bridgetown, the capital city of Barbados.

The St. Augustine Campus (formerly known as “Bridgeport Campus”) is located about 15 kilometres north-east of Bridgetown on the main highway that links the city to Oistins, Christ Church; it was established in 1970 following expansion of facilities at Cave Hill College campus which had been acquired by UWI some years before.[2]

The University of the West Indies (UWI) is a multi-campus university with campuses in Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, St. Lucia and Grenada. It was founded in 1948 as a public university by an act of parliament making it the first university to be established in the Caribbean. The Barbados campus opened in 1950, while the Kingston campus was formally opened on 6 November 1957 by then prime minister Sir Alexander Bustamante at what was then known as Queen’s College

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *