University Of Illinois Edwardsville

Scholarshub Contents Table

University Of Illinois Edwardsville

University Of Illinois EdwardsvilleOops! Click Regenerate Content below to try generating this section again.

The University of Illinois Edwardsville, one of three campuses in the world-class U of I system, is known for educating students to become caring, engaged leaders in their professions and communities. A diverse campus of more than 14,000 students, SIUE offers more than 80 undergraduate majors, 72 master’s degree programs and 2 doctoral programs. There are more than 2,280 full time faculty and staff with a majority having earned the top degrees in their fields. SIUE offers fully accredited degrees from the bachelors through the doctorate level.




SIUE’s founding followed the recommendation of a state planning report that determined a regional university was needed to serve southwestern Illinois. It became apparent that an additional state university was needed in Illinois to meet the educational demands of its rapidly growing population. Legislation introduced in the Illinois General Assembly by State Senator Richard M. Clayton (D-Collinsville) provided that a new university could be established in Southwestern Illinois. The new institution would assume some of the duties of two existing state institutions. On June 26, 1957 Governor William G. Stratton signed Senate Bill 267 into law as Public Law 4-32. This legislation combined Southern Illinois University Carbondale with five other institutions to form a single university within Southwestern Illinois known as Southern Illinois University Edwardsville.


A Building Program


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *