University Of Iowa Football Coach

University Of Iowa Football Coach

The University Of Iowa football coach since 1999.

Mike Donahue

Mike Donahue was a legendary coach at Iowa. He began his career in 1892 and continued to coach until 1922. He won a national championship in 1912, led Iowa to a 27-0-1 record from 1914-1916 and was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame as part of its inaugural class in 1951.

Burt Ingwersen

Burt Ingwersen was the head coach at Iowa from 1948-1954, and he had a record of 47-23-1. He was the first coach to win two bowl games, as well as the first coach to win a conference championship. He also led Iowa to their first bowl game in 1950 against Oklahoma A&M (now Oklahoma State), winning 14-13.

Howard Jones

Howard Jones, who coached at Iowa from 1914 to 1916, led the Hawkeyes to a 10-0-1 record in 1914 and were named national champions for their stellar season. The next two years were not quite as great but still successful. In 1915, Iowa went 9-0-1 and in 1916 they went 7-1-1.

Edward “Slip” Madigan

Edward “Slip” Madigan was a head coach at the University of Iowa from 1920 to 1941. He was a three-time Big Ten Conference Coach of the Year (1925, 1928, 1929), and he led Iowa to two national championships (1923 and 1930). In 1951, he was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Ossie Solem

  • Coach from 1958-1963.
  • Won Big Ten Championship in 1960.
  • Won National Championship in 1960.
  • Coached Heisman Trophy winner in 1960, John Lattner. Lattner rushed for 1,141 yards that season on a 7-1 Iowa team that had no passing game to speak of. Iowa also lost their first game of the year to Notre Dame by a score of 32-7 and then beat Illinois 54-0 (!). They then lost to #10 Oregon State 21-20 before beating #2 Ohio State 10-3 at home (this is not a typo). They capped off this run with a win over #5 California 13-10 in Berkeley after already having played six games (one more than most teams) and traveling coast to coast four times over eight weeks during which they were not allowed to practice due to NCAA rules violations related to recruiting practices by other schools like Notre Dame and USC who were involved with using money as enticement for players; something that was completely against NCAA regulations at the time but has since been changed thanks to lobbying efforts made by coaches like Bo Schembechler at Michigan who developed relationships with high school coaches around the country allowing him access into those areas where others weren’t able through NCAA rules prohibiting such activity unless they were full time employees working directly under him which would require paying them salaries exceeding what most universities could afford so instead he just got permission from each university president individually—which was essentially unheard of until recently when schools started doing this regularly once again as part of their recruiting processes!

George E. Owen

George E. Owen was the head coach at the University of Iowa from 1897 to 1898, where he led the team to a record of 11-8-1.

In his first season with the Hawkeyes, Owen coached an undefeated team that lost only one game by 7 points and won three of their games by more than 7 points. In 1898, Iowa had two losses and one tie for a total win percentage of .500.

Eddie Anderson

Eddie Anderson was the head football coach at the University of Iowa in Iowa City, Iowa. He held that position for two seasons, from 1934 until 1937. His overall coaching record at Iowa was 8–17–1. This ranks him 17th at Iowa in total wins and 16th at Iowa in winning percentage (.440).

Forest Evashevski

  • Forest Evashevski was a football coach who led the University of Iowa to two Big Ten titles and one Rose Bowl title during his time as head coach from 1955-1961.
  • Born in 1918, Evashevski died in 2003. His tenure at Iowa was marked by several major accomplishments: he won the Big Ten Coach of the Year award in 1955 and 1960; his team won back-to-back conference championships from 1956-1957; he took Iowa to its first Rose Bowl since 1923 (they defeated Oregon State 14–6); and he coached 23 future NFL players during his eight years on the sidelines for the Hawkeyes.

Jerry Burns

Jerry Burns was the head coach of the Iowa Hawkeyes from 1980 to 1990. Burns is best known for his success in bowl games, leading the Hawkeyes to four straight bowl victories from 1982 through 1985. He is also known for being named Big Ten Coach of the Year in 1982, 1985 and 1987.

Burns had a record of 69-52-2 while at Iowa, including an overall winning percentage of .572 and a conference record of 40-30-1 (.553). He led Iowa to two outright Big Ten championships in 1984 and 1990, but unfortunately never finished first or second place overall during his tenure with the team.

Ray Nagel

Ray Nagel is a former football coach of the University of Iowa Hawkeyes. He was the head coach from 1953 to 1956, and he ranks as the longest tenured coach in school history. In 1955, his Iowa team won its first national championship in football. Nagel also led the Hawkeyes to their first Rose Bowl appearance in 1956 and their first outright Big Ten Conference title (shared with Ohio State) that same year.

Hayden Fry

Hayden Fry is the longest-tenured coach in University of Iowa football history, having led the team from 1979 to 1998. During his tenure he won a national championship in 1980, two Big Ten championships in 1981 and 1985, one Big Ten championship in 1991 and 1992.

Kirk Ferentz

James “Kirk” Ferentz is a football coach who was born in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. His career began at the University of Iowa, where he played football and coached the team for more than twenty years during two different stints. In between his coaching jobs at the University of Iowa, Ferentz also served as head coach of the Maine Black Bears and Cornell Big Red teams. In 1989 he became head coach of Pitt Panthers before returning again to Iowa in 1999 where he continues to work today.

The University Of Iowa football coach since 1999.

You may not have heard of him, but Kirk Ferentz is one of the most successful coaches in college football history. In his more than two decades on the job at Iowa, he has won three Big Ten championships and been named Big Ten Coach of the Year twice (in 2002 and 2009). He’s also been named AP Coach of the Year twice (in 2002 and 2009).

He has also been named AFCA Coach of The year twice: once in 2002 for his efforts with Iowa’s first Rose Bowl victory since 1959; again in 2009 for leading them to their first Orange Bowl appearance since 1990!

The University Of Iowa football coach since 1999.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *