University Of Kansas Basketball Championships

The University of Kansas, commonly referred to as KU or Kansas, is a public research university in the U.S. state of Kansas. Located in Lawrence, it is the flagship institution of the University of Kansas system. KU has been ranked among the top 10 public universities by U.S. News & World Report for more than a decade and is considered one of America’s Public Ivy schools. The university was founded in 1865 by lawmakers and land-grant advocates who wanted to expand higher education opportunities in frontier Kansas Territory and also offer training for local farmers and tradesmen such as mechanics and blacksmiths. It was founded as an all-mens institution on February 22, 1866; however, women were allowed to study at KU from 1963 until 1966 when they were required to withdraw due to Title IX regulations which would require them receiving athletic scholarships which were not offered at that time

University Of Kansas Basketball Championships

1 School’s Championships

The University of Kansas basketball team has won a total of 15 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I men’s basketball championships. The Jayhawks currently hold the record for most NCAA Championships Appearances (25), consecutive Final Four appearances (9), and consecutive NCAA tournament appearances overall (39).

In 2008, the University of Kansas became the first school to have five players selected in the NBA draft when Sherron Collins, Cole Aldrich, Xavier Henry and twins Markieff and Marcus Morris were all selected among the top 14 picks in that year’s draft. They are also one of only two schools that have had three different head coaches win an NCAA championship at their respective schools (John Wooden at UCLA being the other).

2 Most NCAA Championships Appearances

University of Kansas has made the Final Four 15 times, more than any other college basketball program. They have won four NCAA Championships (1952, 1988, 2008 and 2012) as well as one NIT Championship (1951). The Jayhawks have appeared in the Final Four nine times since 2000 alone.

3 University of Kansas’s NCAA Tournament History

University of Kansas’s NCAA Tournament History

The University of Kansas Jayhawks have won two NCAA Championships, the first in 1952 and the second in 1988. They have also made 27 appearances in the NCAA Tournament. The Jayhawks have won 697 games and lost 456 times. Their overall win percentage is .656%.

4 University of Kansas’s Final Four History

Over the course of their history, the University of Kansas has won 3 National Championships and made it to 6 Final Fours. Their first appearance in a Final Four was in 1952 where they lost to Oklahoma A&M (now known as Oklahoma State). They also reached this stage in 1956 but lost again to San Francisco. In 1988 and 2008, KU were crowned national champions after defeating Oklahoma and Memphis respectively.

In this section you will find everything you need about University Of Kansas’s Final Four History including:

5 NCAA Championships

The University of Kansas basketball team has won 8 NCAA Championships, including the 1988, 2008 and 2012 titles. The University of Kansas basketball team has also been runner up in the national championship four times (1952, 1988, 1995 and 2008).

6 Big 12 Conference Tournament Champions

The Kansas Jayhawks are a basketball team in the Big 12 Conference. They play their home games at Allen Fieldhouse, located on the University of Kansas campus in Lawrence, Kansas. The Jayhawks were one of the original members of NCAA Division I when it was founded in 1906 and have since won 10 conference titles (including their ninth consecutive title starting with this season), but have also gone through many periods where they did not win any championships for several years at a time.

Kansas has won 13 national titles overall, including eight Phog Allen-coached teams from 1907 to 1953 and five Bill Self-led teams from 2002 to present day

7 Big 12 Conference Regular Season Champions

The University of Kansas basketball team is the school’s men’s basketball team that represents the University of Kansas in NCAA Division I competition. The team competes in the Big 12 Conference. They have won two NCAA national championships (1952 and 1988), reached the Final Four four times, played in 13 Final Fours and have won 22 regular season conference titles.[1] The head coach for the Jayhawks is Bill Self who has been coaching at the university since 2003. He has guided them to a record of 9-5 during his first year as head coach and then went on to take them all the way to cutting down nets after winning an NCAA Championship against Michigan State Spartans in 2010.[2]

8 University Of Kansas Basketball

University Of Kansas basketball is the NCAA Division I men’s basketball program at the University of Kansas. The program is classified in the NCAA’s Division I, and participates in the Big 12 Conference.

The Jayhawks have won two national titles, which were earned in 1952 and 2008. They also have 14 conference championships to their credit and six Final Four appearances. In addition to this, they have produced a long list of talented players who went on to become prominent figures on either professional or college teams.

Notable alumni include Paul Pierce (Boston Celtics), Jo Jo White (Boston Celtics), Clyde Lovellette (Minneapolis Lakers), Wilt Chamberlain (Philadelphia Warriors), Adolph Rupp (Kentucky Wildcats head coach)


In conclusion, the University of Kansas has been a dominant force in college basketball. They have won more NCAA titles than any other school and have been in the Final Four on 11 occasions, which is more than any other school.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *