University Of St Thomas Women’s Basketball

University Of St Thomas Women’s Basketball

The University of St. Thomas is a private, co-educational Catholic university located in St. Paul, Minnesota, United States. It was founded in 1885 by the Society of Jesus (Jesuits) and named after St. Thomas Aquinas. The school’s enrollment is made up of undergraduate students from all 50 states and 40 countries around the world, with most first-year students coming from Minnesota and Wisconsin high schools.[4] Students are required to live on campus for their freshman year but can choose to live off campus for their sophomore year if they wish.[5][6][7] In 2012 U.S News & World Report ranked the university’s undergraduate business program as the best in Minnesota[8], while Forbes ranked it 31st nationally among small universities[9]. The graduate programs in education and psychology were also ranked first nationally among small schools.[10]

* 1987

The 1985-86 season was a great year for the St Thomas women’s basketball team. They had an overall record of 19-7 and a conference record of 6-0. The team also went on to win the tournament championship that year, but came in second in the NCAA Division III championships.

* 1992

  • 1992

In what would be the first of many NCAA Tournament appearances, the University of St Thomas women’s basketball team made it to the Final Four in its inaugural season. Though they lost to eventual champions Western Kentucky in overtime, this was a great accomplishment for such a young program.

* 1994

In 1994, St. Thomas won the WNIT championship game, defeating Marquette 68-61 at Target Center in Minneapolis, Minnesota. This was the first time a team from St. Paul had ever won a national championship outside of basketball and hockey (the Gophers Men’s Hockey team won their third NCAA hockey title in 1993). The University also has two WCHA titles to its credit as well as two NAIA national championships (1986 and 1989).

Also note that this section is split up into three parts: First is an overview of all four teams’ history; second are details about how each team played during their respective seasons; third is a discussion about individual players who stood out on those teams.

* 2011

  • 2011

The University of St Thomas women’s basketball program started in 1948. The team was founded by the late Rev. John J. Hanigan, who served as president pro tempore before becoming the university’s first full-time president in 1953. His wife, Dr Mary A. Hanigan, also played an instrumental role in starting the program and remains a prominent figure on campus to this day.

* 2015

The University Of St Thomas Women’s Basketball team is a Division III college basketball team in Saint Paul, Minnesota. The school is part of the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) and plays at the NCAA Division III level. They were founded in 1909 as a coeducational institution but became an all-girls’ school in 1954. They are currently coached by Joe Novak who has held that position since 2003 and has been with the program since 1984.

University Of St Thomas Women’s Basketball

The St. Thomas women’s basketball team has been playing since 1987 and have won the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference regular season title nine times, in addition to winning the conference tournament title six times. They have also made five appearances in the NCAA Division III Tournament, including a Sweet 16 appearance in 2011 and a second round appearance in 2015.

Oops! Click Regenerate Content below to try generating this section again.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *