University Of Tulsa Mens Basketball

University Of Tulsa Mens Basketball

The men’s basketball team represents the University of Tulsa in Tulsa, Oklahoma. The program began in 1929 and has since produced over 30 NBA players and coaches. They play their home games at the Reynolds Center, which seats 10,000 people.[1]

The University of Tulsa men’s basketball team represents the University of Tulsa in Tulsa, in the U.S. state of Oklahoma.

The Tulsa Golden Hurricane men’s basketball team represents the University of Tulsa in Tulsa, Oklahoma. The school’s team currently competes in the American Athletic Conference (The American), which it joined following its departure from Conference USA.

Tulsa has won 7 conference championships, 1 conference tournament championship and appeared in 3 NCAA tournaments, 1 NIT and 1 CBI.


The University of Tulsa men’s basketball team represents the University of Tulsa in Tulsa, in the U.S. state of Oklahoma. The Golden Hurricane first fielded a team in 1917, but did not join an athletic conference until 1928. They joined Conference USA for all sports on July 1, 2005 after it was formed from the merger between the Great Midwest Conference and Conference USA.

The team has won nine regular season titles and six conference tournaments since joining C-USA as well as one regular-season title from 1930 to ’31 when they were members of what is now known as MVC (Missouri Valley Conference). This total ranks seventh overall behind Memphis with 14, Cincinnati with 13, Marquette with 12, Louisville and St. Louis University both have 11 NCAA championships while Kansas has 10 national titles.[2] TU has won its last four conference tournament championships (2006–2010) to reach a total of seven conference tournament championships overall since joining C-USA.[3][4]

American conference

TU competes in the American Athletic Conference (AAC), which includes 10 other teams from across the country. The AAC is an NCAA Division I conference, and members participate in basketball, cross country, golf, soccer and swimming & diving.

The conference was formed in 1995 by seven schools that left Conference USA to join together for football only. The league now has 12 members that compete in all sports except football (there are no plans to add a 13th team).

Western Athletic Conference

Founded in 1962 and beginning play the following year, the Western Athletic Conference is a NCAA Division I conference that began play when five former members of the Missouri Valley Conference—the University of Denver, Colorado State University, Brigham Young University (BYU), Utah State University and Wyoming—allocated to form their own league. The WAC originally comprised three private schools in Kansas; two public schools in Colorado; and one public school in New Mexico.

The WAC was founded on April 25th by five charter members – Air Force Academy, BYU, New Mexico State University (later renamed New Mexico Highlands), Northern Arizona University (NAU) and San Diego State College (SDSC).

In 2018, the American Athletic Conference had a record year. The league won its first-ever American Football Championship Game and had two teams in the College Football Playoff for the first time. It also had four members ranked among the top 25 football programs in 2017The original purpose of the WAC was to promote intercollegiate athletics within each institution’s athletic program. The WAC had only one league-wide championship in men’s basketball, which began with eight teams and later expanded to include 12 schools competing at various sites throughout southern California..

Golden Hurricane

The athletics teams at the University of Tulsa are known as the Golden Hurricane. This is a nickname that has been used by local media to refer to both the university’s sports teams and its football team since 1926; it was officially adopted by the school in 1930.

The team is currently coached by Frank Haith.

The Tulsa Golden Hurricane are the athletic teams that represent the University of Tulsa. The teams are commonly referred to as the “Golden Hurricane,” but they also go by “Tulsa.” Tulsa is a member of the American Athletic Conference, which is part of Division I (I-A) in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). Tulsa sponsors varsity teams in ten men’s and nine women’s NCAA sanctioned sports. The Golden Hurricane football team has won two national championships since

In its long history, the American has seen a number of changes. It was originally called the Great Midwest Conference before becoming part of Conference USA in 1996, then splitting off from C-USA again in 2013 to form The American Athletic ConferenceThe Golden Hurricane have made a total of 13 appearances in the NCAA Tournament, which ranks them 11th all-time. Their combined record is 7–13 (.350). They have reached the Sweet Sixteen four times, 1997, 1999, 2003 and 2010; their current run began in 2010 when they defeated Gonzaga on a buzzer beating layup by Justin Hurtt. In that game, TU scored 64 points in the second half..

Tulsa has appeared in the National Invitation Tournament twice. Their combined record is 2–2.

The Golden Hurricane have won seven regular season championships, six conference tournament championships and have appeared in the NCAA Tournament 17 times. They also have an 11–14 all-time record in the NIT. The program has also produced three Consensus All-Americans: Steve Wojciechowski (1996), Ray Willis (1979) and Henry Iba (1943).

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!